Our City operates under a Municipal Commissioner form of government and has done so since 2011. The two major components to this system of government are the Municipal Council under the Council Mayor; and the Municipal Commissioner.

The Municipal Council is the legislative body, establishing City policies, while the Municipal Commissioner is the administrator, designated to carry out the directives of the Council. Our City’s Municipal Council consists of a Mayor elected at large and nineteen Council Members elected by ward. The Mayor and Council Members serve 4 year terms.


The Mayor serves as a member and presiding officer of the Council. In addition to officiating at all City ceremonial functions, the Mayor takes an active role in promoting the City. The Mayor will be the chairman of the Financial Standing Committee as per the Municipal Council Ordinance and members of all other Standing Committees included with Finance such as Development, Health, Environment and Economic, Education, Sports and Library will be appointed by voting among others.

Municipal Council

The Municipal Council, under the Municipal Council Act, is given certain specific duties: to set policy, to approve the budget, and to enact local laws, resolutions and ordinances. Enactment of a local law must be preceded by a public hearing. A majority vote of the Council is required to pass such a law. Council members also make appointments to certain citizen advisory committees.

Municipal Commissioner

The Municipal Commissioner is the administrative officer of the City next to the Mayor. It is the Commissioner’s responsibility to supervise and coordinate the work of the departments, prepare and submit to Council an annual budget estimate, enforce City ordinances and state laws, and execute all contracts, leases and deeds authorized by Council. The Municipal Commissioner keeps Council informed about the fiscal condition and future needs of the City.

Comments are closed.

Close Search Window